Tuesday, March 3, 2009

IN A MOOD

I'm just in a not so good mood today. I'm feeling all tense and ugly inside and I just can't seem to break through it. Perhaps if I rant a little here then I'll feel a little better.

The economy is in the tank. I'm sure what's left of my 401k would probably buy me 3 cartons of milk in my retirement at this point and yet all those morons in Washington want to do is continue to throw money (my money and your money) at the problem. They think that letting AIG have ANOTHER $30 billion dollars is really going to make a difference. They believe that upgrade our infrastructure (which does need improvements granted) will actually make a dent in the soon to be 10% unemployment rate...news flash...AMERICANS will not be taking these type jobs because our hard-working friends from Mexico will be filling those positions. Americans believe we are too good to do manual labor it seems. It's far more lucrative after all to lie around the house, watch Jerry Springer and eat Cheetos until your fingers turn orange and then allow Uncle Sam to pay for the laziness and the 6 kids running around the yard. Oh yes, the stimulus plan is stimulating what? I don't see businesses responding favorably. In fact, one my friends lost her job yesterday. The company is closing all 799 stores..that's 6100 employees now without a job...and this was a good job too. Where are they going to go? Manufacturing has ceased and no one is buying anything. In fact in January, the personal savings rates in America actually increased! WOW! That's a shocker! Maybe we're learning our lesson about spending above our means? Nahh...give us two years and we'll be back to living on plastic and being slaves to MasterCard, Visa and Discover. If you don't believe me then look at the gas crisis. When gas was $4.00 a gallon everyone thought it was insane that people owed SUVs because of the high cost of filling them. As a result people wisely stopped buying the vehicle. Now that gas is all the way down to $1.69 SUV sales are on the rise again...do we ever get it?

The answer is NO. We throw money at banks that turn around and give it to the CEO in the form of million dollar bonuses and yet we give them more. We watch in horror as the crazies of Islam hijack a plane and slam it into our towers and the churches fill up and everyone finds the need for a Savior and prayer again...then no more than a year later, church attendance is down and the nation falls further and further from it's faith and trust in Christ. It's a sad state of events these days.

What will it take to make Americans see? That's a serious question and I fear it would take something catastrophic to really open up our eyes. Half of the country wants us to be more "liberated" and "open" like Europe and unfortunately they now have the voice of the entire governmental system, from White House to Congress. Will it be something horrible that makes us see that we have strayed from the path that was one so clearly lit? Will we, as a nation, figure it out or will we indeed fall by the wayside and become a nation that is studied in history that was once great and now dead, much like we study the Roman Empire.

Perhaps my angst today is just this general sense that we are all off track. I have NO HOPE WHATSOEVER in our government to fix things. It all feels like a lost cause today. I have a child that will be born into not just a chaotic world, but now a chaotic nation is can't find herself anymore. It's all a little depressing to be honest. I'm thankful that I can and will put my HOPE in the hands of Jesus. Without Him, we are all a lost cause. There is a storm on our horizon and I can see it from my office window...can you? Jesus is on my boat so I am just going to trust HIM and HOPE in HIM to calm the waves and the tempest...even when it may seem like He's asleep with His head on a cushion, I know He's still in control and leading the way!

Thanks for listening!

No comments:

Post a Comment